Dear Clients and Friends,

On January 08, 2024, the Federal Executive Branch published several decrees in the Federal Official Gazette by means of which new Protected Natural Areas were created.

According to these decrees, a total of 20 protected natural areas were created, covering an area exceeding two million hectares, distributed across 15 states in the country, including Chihuahua, Jalisco, Colima, Durango, Oaxaca, Zacatecas, among others.

Under the decrees, different categories were assigned to these natural protected areas, such as “Flora and Fauna Protection Area”, “National Park”, “Natural Resources Protection Area”, “Sanctuary” and “Biosphere Reserve”

It is essential to highlight that the decrees prohibit the construction of structures, exploration, and exploitation activities, and the extraction of minerals or substances within such areas since
their purpose is the preservation and conservation of ecosystems. However, the rights conferred by mining concessions located in the new natural protected areas and granted prior to the entry into force of the decrees will not be affected as long as such concessions remain in force.

The provisions of this decree came into effect as of the date of publication in the Federal Official Gazette, it is to say, on January 08, 2024.2

Should you have any questions or comments regarding the foregoing, please do not hesitate to call your usual contact in the Firm.


Mining Practice 

Pablo Méndez Alvídrez / [email protected]
Alejandro Guerra Herrera / [email protected]
Jorge Alberto Hernández Ogaz / [email protected]
Kevin Daniel Rico Motis / [email protected]



Receive relevant news and information about our events.



© 2022 EC RUBIO | Privacy notice | Terms of use